Dominion

Dominion

Book - 2014
Average Rating:
3
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.
At once a vivid, haunting reimagining of 1950s Britain, a gripping, humane spy thriller and a poignant love story, with Dominion C.J. Sansom once again asserts himself as the master of the historical novel.
     1952. Twelve years have passed since Churchill lost to the appeasers and Britain surrendered to Nazi Germany. The press, radio and television are tightly controlled. British Jews face ever greater constraints.
    But Churchill's Resistance soldiers on. And in a Birmingham mental hospital, fragile scientist Frank Muncaster holds a secret that could alter the balance of the global struggle forever.
    Civil Servant David Fitzgerald, a spy for the Resistance, is given the mission to rescue Frank and get him out of the country. Hard on his heels is Gestapo agent Gunther Hoth, a brilliant, implacable hunter of men, who soon has Frank, along with David's innocent wife, Sarah, directly in his sights.
    C.J. Sansom's literary thriller Winter in Madrid earned him comparisons to Graham Greene, Sebastian Faulks and Ernest Hemingway. Now, in the first alternative history epic from Sansom in the tradition of Robert Harris's Fatherland and Stephen King's 11/22/63, Sansom doesn't just recreate the past--he reinvents it. In a spellbinding tale of suspense, oppression and poignant love, Dominion dares to explore how, in moments of crisis, history can turn on the decisions of a few brave men and women--the secrets they keep and the bonds they share.

Publisher: Toronto : Random House of Canada, 2014
ISBN: 9780345813633
Branch Call Number: FIC Sanso
Characteristics: 592 pages ; 23 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

m
Mattmthekid1
Jun 28, 2015

Dominion is probably one of, if not the best alternate history book out there! A compelling storyline, with exceptional plot development and a quick pace, Dominion is my favourite read of the year(so far) and is a MUST read. Stephen King isn't joking when he says it's a terrific novel!

2
22950005502133
Apr 22, 2014

Huge disappointment. The concept of a post WW II Britain as a vassal state of a victorious Nazi Germany has all kinds of potential which Sansom wastes with a a meandering plot. Taut this is not.

c
ConMartin
Feb 19, 2014

Read my review at:
http://perfectretort.blogspot.com/2014/02/dominion-by-c-j-sansom-book-review.html

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top