At the River's Edge

At the River's Edge

Paperback - 2014
Average Rating:
1
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.
NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

Mariah Stewart returns to her beloved Chesapeake Diaries with this charming novel of small-town romance—perfect for fans of Barbara Freethy, Robyn Carr, and Susan Mallery.

After taking stock of her life, Sophie Enright has decided it’s time for a break. Between a law career that’s become criminally dull and a two-timing boyfriend she’s done with once and for all, Sophie desperately needs some time to think and some space to breathe. The perfect place to do both is easygoing St. Dennis, Maryland, where Sophie can visit with her brother while she figures out her options. Once in St. Dennis, she discovers a shuttered restaurant and makes a bold move that is also a leap of faith. Sophie buys the fixer-upper in order to finally pursue her dream career.
 
But Sophie’s labor of love becomes a bone of contention for her new neighbor Jason Bowers. The local landscaper has big plans for growing his business—until Sophie scoops up the property he’s got his eye on. And no amount of buyout offers or badgering from him will get her to budge. It’s hardly the start of a beautiful friendship. But when they’re paired up to work on a community project, they agree to put their differences aside, and sparks begin to fly. Then Sophie’s cheating ex suddenly shows up, looking for a second chance—and threatening to make Jason a third wheel just when his hotheaded feelings about Sophie were turning decidedly warmhearted. All Sophie wants is a new life and a true love. But what are the odds of having both?

Praise for At the River’s Edge
 
“Everything you love about small-town romance in one book . . . At the River’s Edge is a beautiful, heartwarming story. Don’t miss this one.”—Barbara Freethy
 
“Another signature and heartwarming familial story . . . If a book is by Mariah Stewart, it has a subliminal message of ‘wonderful’ stamped on each page!”Reader to Reader Reviews

Baker & Taylor
While staying with her brother in St. Dennis, Maryland to figure things out, Sophie Enright impulsively buys a boarded-up building to open the restaurant she's always dreamed of owning, which pits her against a gorgeous landscaper who also wants the property--and her. Original.

Baker
& Taylor

While staying with her brother in St. Dennis, Maryland, to figure things out, Sophie Enright impulsively buys a boarded-up building to open a restaurant, which pits her against landscaper Jason Bowers, who also wants the property.

Publisher: New York : Ballantine Books, 2014
Edition: Ballantine Books mass market ed. --
ISBN: 9780345538420
0345538420
Branch Call Number: FIC Stewa
Characteristics: 423 p. --

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

dollhouse_1 Jun 20, 2014

love it her Chesapeake diaries is a very good read

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top