A Man Called Ove

A Man Called Ove

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
61
3
1
Gardners
The international phenomenon: quirky and bittersweet, heartbreaking yet outrageously funny. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Jonas Jonasson's The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of a Window and Disappeared.

Publisher: London, Great Britain : Sceptre, 2015
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9781444775815
1444775812
Branch Call Number: FIC Backm
Characteristics: 295 pages
Additional Contributors: Koch, Henning 1962-

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
m
MillieBT
Mar 09, 2019

Reminded me of the old man in the movie UP....the romance between him and his wife simply pure and adorable...Ove believes in order, rules and principles...by the end of the book you will cry for him, understand him and love him.....highly recommend

The book was a pleasant read but reviewing it on tape was painful. The character is so immature, I could not get past the second disc. The movie was excellent and surpasses the other media.

s
SusieQB1
Jan 21, 2019

Simply wonderful. Highly recommend, just a wonderful read. I bawled like a baby at the end. Original and witty <3

At first this sounds like a dark story as it’s about an elderly widower who decides to commit suicide. However, it’s actually a charming, comical and heartwarming story of a curmudgeonly old man who never manages to commit suicide as his needy neighbours keep showing up at his doorstep asking him to help them. He acquiesces repeatedly providing rides to the hospital, cat sitting, driving lessons, apartment repair, etc. and after a while his life is full again. This is definitely a contender for the best book I read in 2015. Originally written in Swedish. (Submitted by KA)

j
JLee237
Sep 18, 2018

I was disappointed with this novel, expected more laughs. Instead, it was written in sarcasm than wit and the plot is not unique - is a book version of the movie "Up".

j
JessicaTB
Aug 30, 2018

I LOVED this story and had to re-read it immediately after finishing it. This is a powerful story with some surprises throughout.

p
poodlegirl
May 02, 2018

Loved this book the FIRST time I read it. And, still loved it this time...my second. I'd forgotten some of the charming little incidents in the book so a second read was just as enjoyable. BTW, I hear Tom Hanks is scheduled to do the American version movie. I can't imagine it being as good as the Swedish version (which was XL)...but, TH's has never made a bad movie!

j
joyseystreetmama
Apr 26, 2018

How could you help yourself from loving this adorable man? This book was heart warming!

g
gnomenut
Mar 31, 2018

The funniest book I have ever read. Period.

l
Linyarai
Mar 06, 2018

I read this for the "a book by a Scandinavian author" part of my 2018 reading challenge. This book really surprised me, I wasn't super into the first quarter/third of it, but once he meets the cat I found it really picks up. I thought it was really funny and touching, and of course I cried at the end.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote
m
Magicworld
Aug 21, 2015

“And time is a curious thing. Most of us only live for the time that lies right ahead of us. A few days, weeks, years. One of the most painful moments in a person's life probably comes with the insight that an age has been reached when there is more to look back on than ahead. And when time no longer lies ahead of one, other things have to be lived for. memories, perhaps.”

m
Magicworld
Aug 21, 2015

“To love someone is like moving into a house," Sonja used to say. "At first you fall in love in everything new, you wonder every morning that this is one's own, as if they are afraid that someone will suddenly come tumbling through the door and say that there has been a serious mistake and that it simply was not meant to would live so fine. But as the years go by, the facade worn, the wood cracks here and there, and you start to love this house not so much for all the ways it is perfect in that for all the ways it is not. You become familiar with all its nooks and crannies. How to avoid that the key gets stuck in the lock if it is cold outside. Which floorboards have some give when you step on them, and exactly how to open the doors for them not to creak. That's it, all the little secrets that make it your home. "

m
Magicworld
Aug 21, 2015

“She just smiled, said that she loved books more than anything, and started telling him excitedly what each of the ones in her lap was about. And Ove realised that he wanted to hear her talking about the things she loved for the rest of his life.”

Summary

Add a Summary
r
rrmueller
Jun 10, 2016

Fantastic! This booked grabbed me so completely that by the end I was hoping and wishing it would go on and on. Good for a book club.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top