A Man Called Ove

A Man Called Ove

Book - 2015
Average Rating:
Rate this:
58
3
1
Gardners
The international phenomenon: quirky and bittersweet, heartbreaking yet outrageously funny. Perfect for fans of Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry and Jonas Jonasson's The 100 Year Old Man Who Climbed Out of a Window and Disappeared.

Publisher: London, Great Britain : Sceptre, 2015
Copyright Date: ©2014
ISBN: 9781444775815
1444775812
Branch Call Number: FIC Backm
Characteristics: 295 pages
Additional Contributors: Koch, Henning 1962-

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

j
JLee237
Sep 18, 2018

I was disappointed with this novel, expected more laughs. Instead, it was written in sarcasm than wit and it the plot is not unique - is a book version of the movie "Up".

j
JessicaTB
Aug 30, 2018

I LOVED this story and had to re-read it immediately after finishing it. This is a powerful story with some surprises throughout.

p
poodlegirl
May 02, 2018

Loved this book the FIRST time I read it. And, still loved it this time...my second. I'd forgotten some of the charming little incidents in the book so a second read was just as enjoyable. BTW, I hear Tom Hanks is scheduled to do the American version movie. I can't imagine it being as good as the Swedish version (which was XL)...but, TH's has never made a bad movie!

j
joyseystreetmama
Apr 26, 2018

How could you help yourself from loving this adorable man? This book was heart warming!

g
gnomenut
Mar 31, 2018

The funniest book I have ever read. Period.

l
Linyarai
Mar 06, 2018

I read this for the "a book by a Scandinavian author" part of my 2018 reading challenge. This book really surprised me, I wasn't super into the first quarter/third of it, but once he meets the cat I found it really picks up. I thought it was really funny and touching, and of course I cried at the end.

j
jordanbatty
Nov 17, 2017

This took my by surprise. I had a hard time believing I would come to enjoy this story - it seemed too contrived, predictable and sappy. Once I got past my own cynicism, thank you to the writing and pace of the second half of the book, I finally accepted Ove into my heart and was shedding tears by the last pages.

A fun, heart-opening novel that truly shows you - life can get better after grief.

g
GrandCru
Oct 30, 2017

Excellent. I laughed. I cried. Looking forward to the movie being made starring Tom Hanks.

d
darcyhudjik
Oct 10, 2017

An awesome book about a widower's metamorphosis. I definitely recommend it.

m
m0k1m3
Sep 26, 2017

I think everything has been said - just adding my voice to the chorus..... I loved this so much! First it irritated me (as I'm a grouchy, stuck-in-time, old person too), then worried me that it would be a spirit-deadening, "realistic", story - and I would have to stop reading it --- which I just hate. It's also by a man - which I don't read too much anymore. A friend recommended it and I will, forever, bless her for that kindness. For me, this is one of the most heart-opening stories I have ever read. It has come to live in me now and I'm the better for it. Hope you'll give it a try - it's a gem.

View All Comments

Quotes

Add a Quote

m
Magicworld
Aug 21, 2015

“And time is a curious thing. Most of us only live for the time that lies right ahead of us. A few days, weeks, years. One of the most painful moments in a person's life probably comes with the insight that an age has been reached when there is more to look back on than ahead. And when time no longer lies ahead of one, other things have to be lived for. memories, perhaps.”

m
Magicworld
Aug 21, 2015

“To love someone is like moving into a house," Sonja used to say. "At first you fall in love in everything new, you wonder every morning that this is one's own, as if they are afraid that someone will suddenly come tumbling through the door and say that there has been a serious mistake and that it simply was not meant to would live so fine. But as the years go by, the facade worn, the wood cracks here and there, and you start to love this house not so much for all the ways it is perfect in that for all the ways it is not. You become familiar with all its nooks and crannies. How to avoid that the key gets stuck in the lock if it is cold outside. Which floorboards have some give when you step on them, and exactly how to open the doors for them not to creak. That's it, all the little secrets that make it your home. "

m
Magicworld
Aug 21, 2015

“She just smiled, said that she loved books more than anything, and started telling him excitedly what each of the ones in her lap was about. And Ove realised that he wanted to hear her talking about the things she loved for the rest of his life.”

Summary

Add a Summary

r
rrmueller
Jun 10, 2016

Fantastic! This booked grabbed me so completely that by the end I was hoping and wishing it would go on and on. Good for a book club.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top