The Totally Unscientific Study of the Search for Human Happiness

The Totally Unscientific Study of the Search for Human Happiness

Book - 2017
Rate this:
Workman Press.
One of the great humorists of our time turns her comedic lens on our national obsession with finding happiness.
 
Is there a secret to happiness? Beloved comedian Paula Poundstone conducts a series of “thoroughly scientific” experiments, offering herself up as a guinea pig and recording her data for the benefit of all humankind. Armed with her unique brand of self-deprecating wit and the scientific method, in each chapter Paula tries out a different get-happy hypothesis: She gets in shape with taekwondo. She cleans up with a professional organizer. She communes with nature while camping with her daughter. Swing dancing? Meditation? Volunteering? Does any of it bring her happiness? And more importantly, can the happiness last when she’s back in her daily life with kids, chores, and work?

The results are irreverent, hilarious, and pointedly relevant to our times. The Totally Unscientific Study of the Search for Human Happiness is both a commentary on a culture that insists we all be happy all the time and, ironically, a book that will bring happiness (in the form of laughter) to many readers. Paula is a master at her craft and her book will appeal to fans of Tina Fey, Jim Gaffigan, Michael Ian Black, and Chelsea Handler.
 
“Did someone finally do it? Did Paula Poundstone discover the secret to human happiness? I don’t want to give away the ending, but she did make me laugh a LOT and even shed some tears. Read this book!” —Pete Docter, screenwriter and director of Inside Out, Up, and Monsters, Inc.  

“My God, this is a funny book! Bright shafts of the incomparable Poundstone wit come at you from every page.” —Dick Cavett, New York Times columnist and author of Brief Encounters


Baker & Taylor
The Emmy Award-winning comedienne conducts a series of irreverent "scientific" experiments to discover the secret to happiness, from learning martial arts and speeding in a Lamborghini to communing with nature and volunteering.

Baker
& Taylor

"A hilarious story of jumping into new experiences with both feet and a surprisingly poignant tale of a working mother raising three kids"--
The comedienne conducts a series of irreverent "scientific" experiments to discover the secret to happiness, from learning martial arts and speeding in a Lamborghini to communing with nature and volunteering.

Publisher: Thomas Allen & Sons Ltd. MAY 2017
ISBN: 9781616204167
Branch Call Number: ON ORDER

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number Get NoveList Reading Recommendations

Subject Headings

No Subject Headings have been added to this title yet

  Loading...

Find it at IPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top