Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat

Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat

Mastering the Elements of Good Cooking

Book - 2017
Average Rating:
Rate this:
9
Baker & Taylor
A master class in cooking distills decades of professional experience into four elements: salt, fat, acid, and heat, which when properly applied in the kitchen will produce delicious meals, and includes recipes to put the lessons into practice.

Baker
& Taylor

A first book by the acclaimed chef from New York's Chez Panisse distills decades of professional experience into four simple elements that if properly applied can lead to better results in the kitchen, in a reference complemented by 100 essential remedies and dozens of variations.

Simon and Schuster
Now a Netflix series!

New York Times Bestseller and Winner of the 2018 James Beard Award for Best General Cookbook and multiple IACP Cookbook Awards

Named one of the Best Books of 2017 by: NPR, BuzzFeed, The Atlantic, The Washington Post, Chicago Tribune, Rachel Ray Every Day, San Francisco Chronicle, Vice Munchies, Elle.com, Glamour, Eater, Newsday, Minneapolis Star Tribune, The Seattle Times, Tampa Bay Times, Tasting Table, Modern Farmer, Publishers Weekly, and more.

A visionary new master class in cooking that distills decades of professional experience into just four simple elements, from the woman declared “America’s next great cooking teacher” by Alice Waters.

In the tradition of The Joy of Cooking and How to Cook Everything comes Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat, an ambitious new approach to cooking by a major new culinary voice. Chef and writer Samin Nosrat has taught everyone from professional chefs to middle school kids to author Michael Pollan to cook using her revolutionary, yet simple, philosophy. Master the use of just four elements—Salt, which enhances flavor; Fat, which delivers flavor and generates texture; Acid, which balances flavor; and Heat, which ultimately determines the texture of food—and anything you cook will be delicious. By explaining the hows and whys of good cooking, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will teach and inspire a new generation of cooks how to confidently make better decisions in the kitchen and cook delicious meals with any ingredients, anywhere, at any time.

Echoing Samin’s own journey from culinary novice to award-winning chef, Salt, Fat Acid, Heat immediately bridges the gap between home and professional kitchens. With charming narrative, illustrated walkthroughs, and a lighthearted approach to kitchen science, Samin demystifies the four elements of good cooking for everyone. Refer to the canon of 100 essential recipes—and dozens of variations—to put the lessons into practice and make bright, balanced vinaigrettes, perfectly caramelized roast vegetables, tender braised meats, and light, flaky pastry doughs.

Featuring 150 illustrations and infographics that reveal an atlas to the world of flavor by renowned illustrator Wendy MacNaughton, Salt, Fat, Acid, Heat will be your compass in the kitchen. Destined to be a classic, it just might be the last cookbook you’ll ever need.

With a foreword by Michael Pollan.

Publisher: New York : Simon & Schuster, 2017
Edition: First Simon & Schuster hardcover edition
ISBN: 9781476753836
Branch Call Number: 641.5 Nos
Characteristics: 469 pages : illustrations (chiefly colour) ; 24 cm
Additional Contributors: MacNaughton, Wendy - Illustrator

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment
h
HKMar
Jun 12, 2019

I am not going to lie, I definitely checked this out because of Samin's Netflix series titled just like her cookbook. The series is the prelude to her cookbook, we meet the illustrator of whom makes those amazing illustrations in her cookbook with so much detail. Samin has the vibe of a millennial but is actually a GenXer. I really enjoy her openness and teacher-like persona. Learning how to cook is intriguing and appealing with Samin. I recommend both the book and the Netflix series. I also find her Persian background to be very intriguing as well as her linguistic skills.

r
rogebc_0
Apr 06, 2019

This is a cookbook that teaches you about cooking in an easy and unique way. With the current long waitlist and me not wanting to return it, I may have to purchase it!

j
JLMason
Dec 03, 2018

This book is aimed at a cook with some, but not extensive experience who wants to take his/her dishes to another level and explore beyond executing recipes. The first half is a must-read about how to use fat, salt, acid, and heat to enhance the flavours of a meal. It refers to recipes in the second half, many of which provide multiple options to showcase the techniques learned in the first half. The book complements Netflix’s series of the same name, which has author Samin lead the viewer through four episodes each of which is based in a single country: fat (Italy), salt (Japan), acid (Mexico), and heat (the U.S. and Samin’s kitchen). There’s much to learn in the first half and the recipes look good, so I will be buying this book to have a permanent reference.

s
sec1019
Oct 03, 2018

A beautiful book for anyone that wants to LEARN to cook and not copy a recipe - although there are many WONDERFUL recipes included.

ArapahoeJane Oct 02, 2018

Here we go again: Yet another book I felt compelled to purchase after borrowing. This cookbook is unique in that it fully explains the rationale (chemistry, if you will) for recipe instructions. I didn't read it all the way through but decided that I surely need to. I think this book holds the key to transforming my cooking (into something edible each time), whether I use a recipe or not!

j
J_Ray
Jun 27, 2018

This is not really a cookbook, but it's much better. Take your time and read the beginning carefully as it outlines how Salt, Acid, Fat and Heat all work individually and together. The second half of the book shows these concepts in practice, in a more traditional format. But, the true value of the book comes from the theory.

Some people on the internet highly recommended this book and I'm glad I found it at the library!

a
AB8624
Jun 19, 2018

Way too much to read for explaining these concepts. We're not looking to be scientists but just need easy steps to cook, dear author. Perusing helped me only to get thru it.

t
tomatoguy
Feb 25, 2018

I wish I had a book like this years ago! A definite gift for budding or wannabe cooks - much more than the usual list of recipes: it teaches you _how_ to approach creating food with four cornerstones of making food influenced by practices around the world. There are charts about doing things in different ways depending on the ethnic origin, which make things like spicing more than lists of recipe ingredients.

It's light on essential techniques like knife-work and tools usage, but that's not what it's about. If you master the concepts in this book you'll be one of those people who can "make anything with anything."

m
MelissaCan
Sep 06, 2017

Even seasoned kitchen wizards will learn a thing or two from this "cookbook." I've cooked the conveyor belt chicken (Excellent and easy!), the fettucini alfredo, the pomodoro sauce, and the persian-ish rice. With the exception of slightly burning my rice, so far all of the recipes have been spot on- delicious AND intuitive.
I've got a new understanding about the nature of salt and why it matters so much. The illustrations are superb. The narrative is sweet and humble, with stories that really help to drive her points across.
The author also is from San Diego-- it is great to support a chef with SD roots.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top