Red Clocks

Red Clocks

A Novel

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
12
Grand Central Pub
A National Bestseller
A New York Times Editor's Choice
A Time Magazine Best Book of the Year
An Amazon Best Book of the Month

An Indie Next Pick
One of Wall Street Journal's Twelve Books to Read This Winter
An Esquire most anticipated book of 2018
An Elle Best Book of Winter
A Popsugar most anticipated book of Fall
A Ploughshares most anticipated book of Fall
A Nylon Best Book of the Month
One of Publishers Weekly's most anticipated titles of Fall 2017

Five women. One question. What is a woman for?


In this ferociously imaginative novel, abortion is once again illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town, five very different women navigate these new barriers alongside age-old questions surrounding motherhood, identity, and freedom.

Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own, while also writing a biography of Eiv?r, a little-known 19th-century female polar explorer. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or "mender," who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.

RED CLOCKS is at once a riveting drama, whose mysteries unfold with magnetic energy, and a shattering novel of ideas. In the vein of Margaret Atwood and Eileen Myles, Leni Zumas fearlessly explores the contours of female experience, evoking THE HANDMAID'S TALE for a new millennium. This is a story of resilience, transformation, and hope in tumultuous-even frightening-times.

Baker & Taylor
Abortion is illegal in America, in-vitro fertilization is banned, and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty, and property to every embryo. In a small Oregon fishing town Ro, a single high-school teacher, is trying to have a baby on her own. Susan is a frustrated mother of two, trapped in a crumbling marriage. Mattie is the adopted daughter of doting parents and one of Ro's best students, who finds herself pregnant with nowhere to turn. And Gin is the gifted, forest-dwelling herbalist, or "mender," who brings all their fates together when she's arrested and put on trial in a frenzied modern-day witch hunt.

Baker
& Taylor

Five women--including a high school teacher, a pregnant teenager, and a forest-dwelling homeopath--struggle with changes in a near-future America where abortion and assisted fertility have been outlawed and where the homeopath is targeted by a modern-daywitch hunt.
Five women—including a high school teacher, a biographer, a frustrated mom, a pregnant adopted teen and a forest-dwelling homeopath—struggle with changes in a near-future America where abortion and assisted fertility have been outlawed and where the homeopath is targeted by a modern-day witch hunt. By the author of The Listeners. 50,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York, NY : Little, Brown and Company, 2018
Edition: First Edition
ISBN: 9780316434812
Branch Call Number: FIC Zumas
Characteristics: 356 pages ; 22 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

k
KatG1983
Jul 16, 2018

Pregnancy and motherhood examined from four different perspectives, from four very different women in different stages of life experience. Red Clock is set against a (now too close for comfort) backdrop wherein abortion is illegal; as is IVF and adoption to single parent households. However the book does not focus on the politics so much as how these laws effect the lives of each woman. A chilling read that will leave you thinking about it for days - highly recommended.

n
njwillso
Jul 16, 2018

Red clocks is about four women, who struggle with motherhood, the freedom of choice, and identity. Each characters story is unique yet their lives are all interwoven. Even though I could guess where the story was headed in some chapters, I didn’t mind because the story was so engaging. It’s very well written. I would recommend this as a nice light read.

m
mimipater
Jun 28, 2018

Highly readable story of four women in a small Oregon town. Each grappling with their current or potential role as mothers. Set in the near future when reproductive freedom is over. Well written and recommended.

l
lukasevansherman
Jun 09, 2018

More and more, it's looking like Margaret Atwood's "The Handmaid's Tale," originally published in 1985, is the most important sci-fi novel of the past 3 decades. While maybe not the first, it certainly the most influential and provocative of feminist dystopias, which is now in full flower. Perfectly attuned to the political moment, we've seen the television version of "Handmaid's Tale" and novels like "The Power," and, most recently, Leni Zumas's "Red Clocks." This imagines that abortion is illegal in America and embryos have rights under the Personhood Amendment and follows multiple female characters as they navigate the treacherous waters of an ultra conservative society. Zuma teaches writing at PSU.

p
peachmcd
May 09, 2018

Highly recommend this! Anyone who likes Octavia Butler and Margaret Atwood will be happy to add this new author to their list of 'read them all'. I particularly appreciated the well-drawn characters, each with a very different (and purposefully representative) perspective on their newly circumscribed circumstances. I suspect this book will become a book club mainstay.

I did wish that there had been some representation of the unique problems that would be faced by women of color in this scenario - choosing an Oregon seaside town gave the author an excuse not to bother, which struck me as lacking spunk evident in other parts of the book.

DBRL_ReginaF Apr 17, 2018

I have to admit that the constantly changing point of view had me baffled at first but I loved seeing the story lines develop and connect.

TSCPL_Miranda Apr 15, 2018

Lyrical, thoughtful, speculative, female-focused. A book to buy and put on my shelf, for frequent re-readings.

n
njon38
Mar 15, 2018

Has been called the modern day Handmaid's Tale set in the near future where abortion in once again illegal and the Personhood Amendment grants rights of life, liberty and property to every embryo. Protagonists are five women, Ro the high school teacher trying to have in vitro fetilization as a single women who the law also won't let adopt who is writing the biography of Eivar a forgotten 19th century female polar explorer, Susan is the frustrated mother of two trapped in a bad marriage, Mattie is the high school adopted daughter of wonderful parents who accidentally becomes pregnant by a jackass, and Gin -the "mender"- herbalist who is arrested and put on trial for helping terminate a pregnancy. This novel reminds us that one woman's dream is another woman's nightmare and that our individuality and right to chose our own path is necessary for our freedom. All of these women resist the restrictions imposed by the patriarchy and remind us that resistance is crucial. This book would be a great book club pick.

e
Edisto
Mar 08, 2018

I enjoyed the storylines of each of the women and how they intertwined. This book easily fits into what's happening in today's world.

DPLjennyp Mar 06, 2018

A dystopian novel set in a world we still recognize...sort of how our world could become the world of The Handmaid's Tale. And a super entertaining read set on the Oregon coast.

View All Comments

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top