The Elizas

The Elizas

A Novel

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
4
Baker & Taylor
Unable to get anyone to believe that she was pushed before she was rescued from the bottom of a hotel pool, a rising author struggling with suicidal depression and memory loss begins to question her sanity as elements from her debut novel begin to mix up with events in her real life. By the best-selling author of Pretty Little Liars.

Baker
& Taylor

Unable to convince anyone that she was pushed before she was rescued from the bottom of a hotel pool, a rising author struggling with depression and memory loss begins to question her sanity as elements from her debut novel mix up with events in her reallife.

Simon and Schuster
Harper’s Bazaar | 10 New Books to Add to Your Reading List in 2018
Cosmopolitan | Best April Ever roundup
Bustle | 35 Most Anticipated Fiction Books Of 2018 To Get You Pumped For A New Year Of Reading

PopSugar | 10 of the Most Anticipated Books Out in 2018
BuzzFeed | 5 Best Thrillers Of Spring
BookBub | 17 Great New Books Coming in 2018, According to Bestselling Authors
She Reads | Most Anticipated Books of April 2018
Bookish | April 2018 Book Club Picks
Real Simple | The Best Books of 2018 (So Far)
Town & Country | The Best Books to Read This April


New York Times bestselling author of Pretty Little Liars Sara Shepard makes her mark on adult fiction with this Hitchcockian double narrative composed of lies, false memories, and a protagonist who must uncover the truth for survival.

When debut novelist Eliza Fontaine is found at the bottom of a hotel pool, her family at first assumes that it’s just another failed suicide attempt. But Eliza swears she was pushed, and her rescuer is the only witness.

Desperate to find out who attacked her, Eliza takes it upon herself to investigate. But as the publication date for her novel draws closer, Eliza finds more questions than answers. Like why are her editor, agent, and family mixing up events from her novel with events from her life? Her novel is completely fictional, isn’t it?

The deeper Eliza goes into her investigation while struggling with memory loss, the closer her life starts to resemble her novel, until the line between reality and fiction starts to blur and she can no longer tell where her protagonist’s life ends and hers begins.

Fans of Pretty Little Liars, S.J. Watson’s Before I Go to Sleep, and Ruth Ware’s The Woman in Cabin 10 will be drawn to the drama of feeling like no one is on your side, the high tension of not knowing who you can trust, the hair-raising truths hidden among lies, and a faceless, nameless presence controlling Eliza’s life from the shadows.

Publisher: New York : Atria Books, 2018
Edition: First Atria Books hardcover edition
ISBN: 9781501162770
Branch Call Number: FIC Shepa
Characteristics: 341 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

DCLadults May 29, 2018

I couldn’t get into this. Poorly written and slow moving. The story was forced and the main character was clueless. I don’t recall another adult mystery book ever asking so many obvious, unanswered questions to try and create suspense and mystery.

t
tink05
May 17, 2018

The Dot story you could tell all along where it was going. But the Eliza portion had me. Including the ending. Really messes with your mind.

d
darladoodles
Apr 12, 2018

The description of this book intrigued me so I downloaded an ARC through NetGalley. Thank you, Atria Books.

This thriller is really a book within a book. Eliza's book "The Dots" is about to be published when she is rescued from the bottom of a pool at a resort in Palm Springs. Did she jump or was she pushed? Why is her memory so spotty? Why does she perceive a presence hovering in the periphery of her vision? All those questions are answered and tied up quite neatly through the book.

Something about this book struck me as off. Perhaps it is the transition from YA to Adult and it is stuck in the middle. There was a lack of maturity to the narrative that for me was distracting and affected my experience.

a
aliciamarie
Apr 04, 2018

I was very excited to read this new novel by Sara Shepard! I fell in love with the Pretty Little Liars series. This new novel, "The Elizas" is geared more towards the adult audience, as opposed to her previous novels in the Young Adult genre.

This thriller was easy to get into from the start. The cast of characters are interesting, diverse and relatable. Mysteries and plot twists kept coming and I stayed engaged throughout the story. I honestly didn't see the end coming!

If you are looking for a vacation read, this is a must! I think Sara Shepard did a great job transitioning to adult fiction. I look forward to her next novel!

Thanks to Atria Books and Netgalley for allowing me a free copy to read and give my honest review!

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top