The Oracle Year

The Oracle Year

A Novel

Book - 2018
Average Rating:
Rate this:
1
1
Baker & Taylor
Awakening from a dream with more than one hundred predictions about the future in his head, an unassuming Manhattan bassist becomes one of the world's most powerful men and hides his identity behind an online persona that is targeted by greedy corporations and dangerous enemies.

HARPERCOLL

From bestselling comic-book franchise writer Charles Soule comes a clever and witty first novel of a twentysomething New Yorker who wakes up one morning with the power to predict the future—perfect for fans of Joe Hill and Brad Meltzer, or books like This Book Is Full of Spiders and Welcome to Night Vale.

Knowledge is power. So when an unassuming Manhattan bassist named Will Dando awakens from a dream one morning with 108 predictions about the future in his head, he rapidly finds himself the most powerful man in the world. Protecting his anonymity by calling himself the Oracle, he sets up a heavily guarded Web site with the help of his friend Hamza to selectively announce his revelations. In no time, global corporations are offering him millions for exclusive access, eager to profit from his prophecies.

He's also making a lot of high-powered enemies, from the President of the United States and a nationally prominent televangelist to a warlord with a nuclear missile and an assassin grandmother. Legions of cyber spies are unleashed to hack the Site—as it's come to be called—and the best manhunters money can buy are deployed not only to unmask the Oracle but to take him out of the game entirely. With only a handful of people he can trust—including a beautiful journalist—it's all Will can do just to survive, elude exposure, and protect those he loves long enough to use his knowledge to save the world.

Delivering fast-paced adventure on a global scale as well as sharp-witted satire on our concepts of power and faith, Marvel writer Charles Soule's audacious debut novel takes readers on a rollicking ride where it's impossible to predict what will happen next.



Baker
& Taylor

Awakening from a dream with 108 predictions about the future in his head, an unassuming Manhattan bassist catapults to one of the world's most powerful men and hides his identity behind an online persona that is targeted by greedy corporations and dangerous enemies who would change the playing field by recruiting or eliminating him. 60,000 first printing.

Publisher: New York : Harper Perennial, [2018]
Copyright Date: ©2018
ISBN: 9780062686633
Branch Call Number: FIC Soule
Characteristics: 402 pages ; 24 cm

Opinion

From Library Staff

Comment
IPL_Mandy May 01, 2018

I couldn't put down this fast-paced novel that delves into the ethical questions around power the power of information. Will wakes up one day knowing about 108 events that will happen in the future. Some are of little consequence, while others have the potential to change the world as we know it.... Read More »


From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

IPL_Mandy May 01, 2018

I couldn't put down this fast-paced novel that delves into the ethical questions around power the power of information. Will wakes up one day knowing about 108 events that will happen in the future. Some are of little consequence, while others have the potential to change the world as we know it. It all depends on what he will do with the knowledge.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

IPL_Mandy May 02, 2018

IPL_Mandy thinks this title is suitable for 14 years and over

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top