The Waters & the Wild

The Waters & the Wild

A Novel

Book - 2018
Rate this:
Random House, Inc.
Haunted by a past crime and a past lover, a psychoanalyst tries to protect his daughter from his mistakes—but at what cost?

“This dazzling gothic-tinged thriller takes us deep into a labyrinth of secrets, lies, and deceptions.”—Dan Chaon, New York Times bestselling author of Ill Will
 
Daniel Abend is a single parent in New York City, with a successful therapy practice and a comfortable life: an apartment on the Upper West Side, a teenage daughter, a peaceful daily routine. When one of his patients commits suicide, it is a tragedy, but one easily explained: The young woman suffered from depression and drug addiction.

But soon after, Daniel receives an ominous note that makes him question the circumstances surrounding his patient’s death. He is provided with a provocative series of clues—a mysterious key, a cryptic poem, a photograph with a chilling message. A few days later, his daughter abruptly disappears.

Daniel is swept into an increasingly desperate search for his daughter, and for the truth—a search that stretches back decades, to when he was a young man living in Paris, falling in love with a woman who would ultimately upend his life. As he is tormented by a steady flow of anonymous letters, Daniel recognizes that he must confront the secrets of his past: There is a debt to be paid, an account to be settled.

Advance praise for The Waters & The Wild

“Elegant, elegiac, enigmatic: three words to describe The Waters & The Wild. DeSales Harrison crafts a series of intricate psychological layers that blur the lines between what is past and present, real and unreal. This is a compelling debut that is equal parts character study and literary labyrinth.”—Matthew Pearl, New York Times bestselling author of The Dante Club and The Last Bookaneer 

“A cryptic, beguiling puzzle-box of a book, The Waters & The Wild is chilling in its acuity and deep in its sorrows—a mesmeric exploration of guilt in the vein of Vertigo or The Secret History, with the frantic nightmare-logic of a thriller.”—David Gilbert, author of & Sons

Baker & Taylor
"Daniel Abend is a psychoanalyst in New York City with a successful practice and a normal life: an apartment on the Upper West Side, a beautiful teenage daughter, a peaceful existence. When one of his young patients commits suicide, it is a tragedy, but one easily explained by her depression and drug addiction. And then, shortly after, he receives an ominous note that makes him question the patient's death. A few days later, his daughter abruptly disappears. With a steady flow of mysterious notes showingup in his mailbox from an unknown sender, Daniel finds himself caught up in an increasingly elaborate search for his daughter, and for the truth, a search that stretches back decades--when he was a young man living in Paris, falling in love with a woman who would ultimately upend his life. With lyrical prose and masterful plotting, this is a sophisticated, surprising literary mystery about the profound questions of what it means to love, to betray, and to forgive" --

Baker
& Taylor

A successful Upper West Side psychiatrist begins to doubt a young client's suicide when he receives the first of an ominous series of notes by a sender who kidnaps his daughter and shares clues leading him back to a love affair in Paris that upended his life decades earlier.

Publisher: [Place of publication not identified] : Penguin Random House Canada, 2018
ISBN: 9780812989540
Branch Call Number: ON ORDER
Characteristics: 1 volume (unpaged)

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Recommendations

  Loading...
No similar edition of this title was found at IPL.

Try searching for The Waters & the Wild to see if IPL owns related versions of the work.


Suggest For Purchase

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top