Cactus Jack

Cactus Jack

A Novel

Book - 2020
Rate this:
Brad Smith rivals Elmore Leonard at his best (Publishers Weekly). His latest novel is for fans of Richard Russo and Richard Ford, a terrific horse racing novel about an untried colt, a band of misfits and has-beens who pull off a miracle and stick it to the establishment in the unscrupulous world of horse racing. Billie Masterson is a thirty-something chronic underachiever, drowning herself in alcohol and bad relationships in Ohio. She hasnt been home to the familys broken-down thoroughbred farm in Kentucky since college. Her mother committed suicide when Billie was a teen and she blames her father, Will Masterson. When Will drops dead while working on the farm, Billie returns to rural Kentucky for the funeral, intending only to pay her respects before high-tailing it back to Ohio. However, shes informed by her fathers lawyer, the garrulous David Mountain Clay, that she now owns the farmand all the debt that goes with it. Determined to sell everything, settle the debts and get out of town, Billie discovers that her fathers colt, a horse named Cactus Jack, is the object of obsession for billionaire Reese Ryker, the louche scion of a department store dynasty and now owner of Double R Racing, one of the top thoroughbred stables in the world. Billie is willing to sell everything to Rykeruntil she realizes that hes an entitled misogynist and a not-so-subtle racist. Against her better judgment, she decides to keep the farm and the untested horse. To do that she needs to race the animaland beat Ryker at his own game. Assisted by a team of misfits, including a washed-up trainer with whom she has a bit too much history, the horse-crazy little girl next door, and her fathers ex-girlfriend, Billie and Cactus Jack manage to do just that.
Publisher: Canada : Arcade, 2020
ISBN: 9781950691456
Branch Call Number: ON ORDER
Characteristics: 288 pages

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top