The Cornflake House

The Cornflake House

Book - 2000
Average Rating:
Rate this:
Baker & Taylor
In this comic, magical novel, an unconventional family leaves its trailer home to move to the British suburbs, where the brood of seven multi-racial children turns convention on its head. Reprint.

McMillan Palgrave
For fans of Kate Atkinson, Barbara Trapido, and Alice Hoffman--the magical story of an unconventional family in the English suburbs

Eve has grown up in a decidedly unconventional family, one of seven multi-racial children with different fathers and a mother named Victory who raises them her own way. When Eve is eight, Victory calls upon her hidden talent--second sight, 'the ability to harness chance.' It's a gift that often brings Victory forebodings of disaster, but it also wins her first prize in a cereal-box competition. The rag-tag family leaves its trailer home for a house in a leafy London suburb: The Cornflake House. The neighbors' consternation at their arrival has comic, then disastrous, consequences.

Now Eve is a young woman in prison. How she got there, and how her amazing mother planned long ago to get her out, makes for a dramatic and utterly original novel of family and magic.


Publisher: New York : Picador USA, 2000, c1999
ISBN: 9780312252717
0312252714
Branch Call Number: FIC Grego
Characteristics: 228 p

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

There are no comments for this title yet.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at IPL

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top